Macho man?

The male culture in Belize is far more macho than in the western world. Ones ability to chop trees with a machete non-stop for a full day is a sign of strength, and is rewarded with respect. I must admit that I am familiar with some healthy male competition, but sometimes things backfire on you. When my Belizian friend was chopping fire wood I decided to help. I went for my small hand-axe and started chopping. After about 20 minutes I hit as hard as I could and the wood just cracked. Unfortunatelly the crack cut up my finger and I could litteraly see my bone. I eventually ended up getting 4 stiches at the hospital. The hospital, by the way, was awesome and free — like in most countries (except the US).

 

Leave a Reply

