Don’t burn my ass

Lately, I have been having some problems choosing toilets. I realize that this is probably not a common problem since the WC is normally there where you use it and flush it. However, if you have to clean your drinking water, you probably don’t want to take a dump in it! In 1596 a flush toilet was installed at the Royal residence of England for Queen Elisabeth I, to ensure that Royal feces appeared odor-free. In the past 15 years or so there have been advances in waterless toilets that incinerate (burn) without any odor. These are my two options;

 

(http://www.toiletrevolution.com/products/incinerating-toilets/storburn-60k-seriesincinerating-toilet/)

1) Storburn. It is big and quite ugly, but doesn’t have any pipe or plumbing connected to it. The downside is that it burns by using propane gas. Not 100% self-reliant, but a much better option than a bio digester (bio septic tank) from an environmental point of view. I must admit, I have a problem sitting on a giant propane based burning machine. To me, these moments should be stress-free and the last thing to worry about is a machine failure and a 3rd degree burn up my ass. Maybe it is just my inexperience with gas that scares me?

 (http://www.separett.eu/flame-8000-eu)

2) My second option is from Sweden and is called Flame 8000. Besides potentially the lamest name ever, it is a purely electric based incinerating toilet. Design-wise, it doesn’t look like it has been made in the former Soviet Union. However, it does require pipes, etc. It would make us more self-reliant since it would run on the electricity we produce. Getting potentially electrocuted adds a slight stress moment, but it does not scare as much as being burned. I have to admit that the “Made-in-Sweden” factor increases my trust, but maybe I am just biased.

I believe the incinerating toilet revolution is yet to come once industrial designers provide their touch, but I have to make a decision now. I hope it won’t be a crappy one!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

